Skip to content
research

Company profile

ST.JAMES'S PLACE CAPITAL

Updated

Overview

St. James’s Place Capital is part of St. James’s Place, a UK-based, advice-led wealth management business focused on providing financial advice, long-term investment products and investment management as an integrated service to individual clients. The group reports that it serves more than one million clients and operates through a large adviser network in the UK, with 4,920 advisers, positioning wealth management as its sole reportable business segment. Its offering includes products and services such as pensions, ISAs, unit trusts, insurance bonds and discretionary fund management, aimed mainly at mass affluent and high-net-worth clients. The business traces its history to 1992.[1]

The company’s purpose is to empower clients with advice to realise bolder ambitions, and it presents itself as “the home of invaluable advice.” While its core market is the UK, it also operates branches in Singapore and the Republic of Ireland. As general indicators of scale, the group reported £190.2 billion of funds under management at the end of 2024, fee and commission income of £3,163.9 million for 2024, and a year-end core employee base of 1,769.[6] [1]

Products & services

St. James’s Place Capital’s manufactured product set includes insurance bonds, pensions, unit trust and ISA investments, and a discretionary fund management (DFM) service.[12] On its public product list, the main named offerings include the Retirement Account and Trustee Investment Account under pensions and retirement; the Investment Bond, Beneficiary Income Plan, Enhanced Gift Plan, Discounted Gift Plan, Gift Plan, Later Life Planning Scheme, Loan Plan and Trustee Bond under investment bonds; and St. James’s Place Investment Management under discretionary fund management.[13] By closing funds under management, pensions represented 53.6% of total FUM, investment bonds 20.6%, and UT/ISA plus DFM 25.8%.[14]

The Investment Bond is described as a medium- to long-term investment product that lets clients spread risk, switch between funds as needs change, and access a wide range of asset classes for income needs, capital growth and tax planning.[15] Estate and later-life planning products are also packaged around the bond wrapper: the Gift Plan is presented as a tax-efficient way to build an investment fund for beneficiaries and potentially reduce the estate for inheritance-tax purposes, combining an investment bond with either an absolute or discretionary trust; the Later Life Planning Scheme is described as helping clients plan for inheritance tax while securing income to help meet long-term care costs.[16][17]

In investments, SJP offers unit trusts, where client money is pooled with other investors and managed as a portfolio of assets by a fund manager, alongside Stocks & Shares ISAs and Junior ISAs.[18] The group also states that one of its entities is responsible for unit trust administration and ISA management.[21] Within managed investment solutions, SJP markets three portfolio ranges: Polaris, a set of four fund-of-funds solutions at different risk levels; Growth Portfolios, which combine SJP funds into five portfolios aimed at long-term growth; and InRetirement, a three-solution fund-of-funds range designed to support regular withdrawals in retirement.[22][23] Protection and planning services include income protection, critical illness cover, life cover (including term assurance and whole of life), private medical insurance, employee benefits, and trusts, with trusts described as providing flexibility and control beyond a will alone.[24] [12]

Geographic presence

The company is predominantly UK-focused geographically. It does not present separate geographic segment information, stating that most customers are based in the United Kingdom, that asset management is also based there, and that its Asia operation is not yet sufficiently material for separate consideration. Its corporate footprint nonetheless extends beyond the UK through subsidiaries incorporated in the UK, Ireland, the Middle East and Asia.[3][27]

Its registered office is at 1 Tetbury Road, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK, and it also operates branches in the Republic of Ireland and Singapore. Workforce geography is also heavily concentrated in the UK: at 31 December 2024, the group had 3,334 employees, of whom 3,060 were in the UK. The company does not disclose a country- or region-level revenue split.[28] [3]

Business segments

St. James’s Place Capital reports a single operating/reportable segment under IFRS 8: wealth management. This segment encompasses face-to-face financial advice delivered through its adviser network and the provision of financial solutions including insurance bonds, pensions, unit trust and ISA investments, and discretionary fund management services. As the company discloses no other reportable operating segments, wealth management accounts for effectively 100% of reported segment activity. The group also states that it does not present geographic segments, and that its Asia operation is not yet sufficiently material for separate consideration.[2]

Although these are not reported as separate IFRS segments, the wealth management business is also broken down analytically by funds under management. At 31 December 2024, pensions were the largest component at £101.98bn, or about 53.6% of total FUM; UT/ISA and DFM accounted for £49.05bn, or about 25.8%; and investment bonds accounted for £39.18bn, or about 20.6%, out of total FUM of £190.21bn. Additional disclosed pools included Rowan Dartington Group FUM of £3.49bn, about 1.8% of total FUM, and SJP Asia FUM of £1.90bn, about 1.0% of total FUM; however, these are disclosed as subcomponents rather than separate reportable segments.[14] [2]

Company history

St. James’s Place was established in 1991 by Sir Mark Weinberg, the late Mike Wilson CBE and Lord Rothschild as the J. Rothschild Assurance Group, and it began trading in 1992.[32] In 1997, the group effectively completed a reverse takeover of St. James’s Place Capital, which secured a public listing on the Stock Exchange after five years of trading and placed it in the FTSE 250 Index.[32]

In June 2000, Halifax Group acquired 60% of the company’s issued share capital, and in October 2000 the business changed its name from J. Rothschild Assurance to St. James’s Place.[32] The corporate name was then changed from St. James’s Place Capital plc to St. James’s Place plc with effect from 9 May 2006.[33] A further milestone came in 2013, when Lloyds Banking Group sold down its holding, with its remaining 21% stake placed in the market and reduced to nil on 10 December 2013.[34] In 2016, St. James’s Place completed the acquisition of Rowan Dartington, adding a discretionary fund management business to the group.[35] [34]

Sources

  • ST.JAMES'S PLACE CAPITAL — Full financial report (2024 Y)
    19 citations
  • www.sjp.co.uk[13]
  • partnership.sjp.co.uk[15]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[16]
  • partnership.sjp.co.uk[17]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[18]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[19]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[20]
  • partnership.sjp.co.uk[22]
  • partnership.sjp.co.uk[23]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[24]
  • partnership.sjp.co.uk[25]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[26]
  • www.sjp.co.uk[32]
  • www.investegate.co.uk[33]
  • ST.JAMES'S PLACE CAPITAL — Full financial report (2013 Y)[34]
  • ST.JAMES'S PLACE CAPITAL — Press release (2016 Y)[35]

Continue your research

From company context to financial detail.

Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.

Explore ST.JAMES'S PLACE CAPITAL in Finbar ↗

Go deeper with Finbar

↗