Overview
Park National Corporation is an Ohio-based financial holding company whose principal business is banking. Through Park National Bank, it provides commercial and consumer banking, wealth management, trust, and investment services. The company traces its banking history to 1908 and was established as a bank holding company in 1987.[1][2]
Its operations focus on communities in Ohio, Kentucky, North Carolina, and South Carolina, including markets around Columbus, Cincinnati, Charlotte, Louisville, and Raleigh. At year-end 2025, the company reported 87 financial-service offices, including 82 branches, and total assets of $9.8 billion.[3][4] Company materials describe its purpose in terms of service, community support, and helping people and communities achieve their financial goals.[5] [1][2][3][4][5]
Products & services
Park National offers commercial loans for property, equipment, inventory, receivables, acquisitions, commercial leasing, and consumer-finance-company originations. Its commercial real-estate lending serves property owners and developers. At year-end 2025, commercial loans and leases totaled approximately $3.453 billion, or 42.9% of the loan portfolio; this comprised $1.212 billion in commercial, financial, and agricultural loans, $2.209 billion in commercial real-estate loans, and $32 million in commercial leases.[6][7]
Specialty lending includes nationwide aircraft loans and leases through Scope Aircraft Finance, with $339 million outstanding at year-end 2025, primarily secured by aircraft. Park also provides asset-based loans to non-bank consumer finance companies, typically supported by cash flows from consumer-finance assets such as auto loans; $274 million was outstanding at year-end 2025. Consumer lending includes residential mortgages, home-equity lines of credit, and installment loans. Park retains some residential mortgages and sells fixed-rate mortgages into the secondary market.[8][9][10][11][12]
Digital banking services include ParkDirect and mobile, internet, telephone, branch, and ATM access. Personal mobile-banking capabilities include balance viewing, transfers, bill payment, check deposit, card and spending controls, and alerts. Business and treasury services include online payment tools, wire transfers, reporting, ACH, reconciliation, lockbox, positive pay, remote deposit, and sweeps.[2][13][14][15]
The company also offers wealth-management and trust services, including investment, estate, and retirement planning, and trustee, co-trustee, and agent administration. Park reported $25.8 million in debit-card fee income in 2025; transaction volume increased 0.99% and transaction sales dollars increased 3.2% year over year.[16][17][18] [6][7][8][9][10][11][12][2][18][13][14][15][16][17]
Geographic presence
As of December 31, 2025, Park National Bank operated 87 financial-service offices, including 82 branches, across Ohio, Kentucky, North Carolina and South Carolina. The reported office distribution was 76 in Ohio, one in Kentucky, five in North Carolina and five in South Carolina. The company focused on smaller and midsize communities as well as the metropolitan areas of Columbus, Cincinnati, Charlotte, Louisville and Raleigh; it primarily served 24 Ohio counties, one Kentucky county, five North Carolina counties and four South Carolina counties.[2][19][3]
The footprint expanded in 2026 following the merger with First Citizens National Bank, effective February 1. Park said the combined bank had more than 100 branches across Ohio, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee; First Citizens had operated 24 banking offices in Tennessee.[20][21]
The company reported 1,731 active associates at year-end 2025 but did not provide a state- or region-level employee breakdown. Its 2025 filing did not disclose revenue by geography.[22][23][24] [2][19][3][22][23][24][20][21]
Business segments
Park National reports one operating and reportable business segment: **Banking**. Its activities include commercial banking, consumer banking, and wealth management, including trust and investment services; the company reports all its operations as domestic. Its stated markets include small- and medium-population areas in Ohio, North Carolina, and South Carolina, as well as the Columbus, Cincinnati, Charlotte, Louisville, and Raleigh metropolitan areas.[25][26][2]
The Banking Segment represents approximately **100% of reported segment revenue and net income**, as it is the company’s sole reportable segment. In FY2025 it reported $664.421 million in total consolidated revenues and $180.073 million in net income; for the six months ended June 30, 2026, it reported $400.372 million and $100.439 million, respectively.[24][27][28]
Park also groups loans into categories such as commercial, financial and agricultural; commercial real estate; construction real estate; residential real estate; and consumer for credit-risk and allowance disclosures. These are portfolio classifications, not separately reported business segments, and separate segment revenue for them is not reported.[29][30] [25][26][2][24][27][28][29][30]
Company history
Park National’s roots trace to Guardian Savings and Trust, founded in 1907 by Alvin R. Lindorf, Augustus G. Wyeth, and William W. Gard. The Park National Bank of Newark received its national charter on July 6, 1908, with Wyeth as its first president. Park National Corporation was formed as a bank holding company on February 28, 1987.[31][1][5]
The bank expanded in Ohio through acquisitions including The Peoples State Bank in 1970, The Utica Savings Bank Company in 1973, and The Fairfield National Bank of Lancaster in 1985.[32] It later expanded into the Carolinas when NewDominion Bank joined in 2018 and Carolina Alliance Bank joined in 2019.[33][34] Park agreed to merge with First Citizens Bancshares in October 2025, and the merger was completed on February 1, 2026, extending its presence into Tennessee.[35][20] [1][31][5][32][33][34][35][20]
Sources
- PARK NATIONAL CORP /OH/ — Full financial report (2025 Y)
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[4]
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[5]
- parknationalbank.com[13]
- parknationalbank.com[14]
- parknationalbank.com[15]
- parknationalbank.com[16]
- parknationalbank.com[17]
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[20]
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[21]
- PARK NATIONAL CORP /OH/ — Full financial report (2026 Q 2)[27][28]
- parknationalbank.com[31]
- banks.data.fdic.gov[32]
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[33]
- investor.parknationalcorp.com[34]
- www.sec.gov[35]
Continue your research
From company context to financial detail.
Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.
Explore PARK NATIONAL CORP /OH/ in Finbar ↗