Skip to content
research

Company profile

JAPAN POST BANK CO LTD

Updated

Overview

Japan Post Bank Co., Ltd. is a Japanese retail bank that provides deposit, payment and remittance services, alongside asset-management services, to customers across Japan. It delivers these services through its own branches, digital channels and the nationwide post office network. Customer deposits also support its market investment business, which invests in Japanese government bonds and other financial assets. The bank aims to be “the most familiar and trusted bank” and to provide safe, secure and convenient financial services.[1]

The bank’s scale is closely tied to its domestic reach: it reported approximately 120 million customer accounts and 23,494 branches, including post offices. For the fiscal year ended March 31, 2025, it reported ordinary income of ¥2.52 trillion; at that date, total assets were approximately ¥233.6 trillion, and it reported 10,952 employees.[2] [1]

Products & services

Japan Post Bank offers ordinary savings accounts, fixed-term and time deposits, and other savings products. Its general account combines everyday banking with savings functions and supports deposits, withdrawals, transfers, receipt of payments and bill payment.[8] Customers can use ATMs, Yucho Direct internet banking and the Yucho Tsucho (Bankbook) App; the app includes payment and ATM deposit-and-withdrawal functions.[9][10]

Other offerings include domestic transfers, online international remittances, investment trusts and NISA accounts. Yucho Fund Wrap is offered through an investment-management intermediary service.[11] The bank also offers housing-loan services, including Yucho Flat 35 in partnership with the Japan Housing Finance Agency, and provides business customers with Yucho Biz online banking.[15][16] [9]

Geographic presence

Japan Post Bank is headquartered in Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, and its customer-facing operations are concentrated in Japan. It provides banking services nationwide through directly operated branches and post offices, giving it a presence across all 47 prefectures.[17][18]

As of March 31, 2025, its network comprised 23,494 locations including post offices, of which 233 were directly operated bank branches, and approximately 31,200 ATMs. The distinction matters because most service locations are post offices rather than bank-operated branches. The bank also invests in foreign securities, but the available geographic information does not establish a comparable overseas retail network or a country-by-country revenue breakdown.[18][17] [19]

Business segments

Japan Post Bank reports **one financial segment, banking service**, and does not disclose separate revenue or profit shares for its business strategies. On a reported-segment basis, banking service therefore accounts for 100% of the group; percentages for the businesses below are not available.[22]

Within that segment, the bank organizes its strategy around three areas. **Retail Business** serves customers through post offices and digital channels, including deposits, payments and asset-building services. **Market Business** manages the investment portfolio, combining yen interest-rate assets with other risk assets and selective strategic investments; it is the principal source of the bank’s net interest income. **Σ Business** focuses on investment in regional businesses and collaboration with regional financial institutions and other partners to support local economies. These are strategic business areas, not separately reported financial segments.[23] [22]

Company history

Japan Post Bank traces its origins to Japan’s postal savings service, established in 1875. The service expanded to include money transfers in 1906 and introduced automated teller services in 1981.[26][27]

The present company was established in September 2006 as Yucho Co., Ltd. in preparation for postal privatization. It adopted the Japan Post Bank name and began operations in October 2007. The bank launched JP BANK CARD and began offering mortgage-intermediary and variable-annuity application services in 2008. Its shares were listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange in November 2015.[28][29] [26]

Sources

  • JAPAN POST BANK CO LTD — Full financial report (2025 Y)
    11 citations
  • JAPAN POST BANK CO LTD — Press release (2025 Y)
    3 citations
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[8]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[10]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[11]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[12]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[13]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[14]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[15]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[16]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[17]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[18]
  • JAPAN POST BANK CO LTD — Other (2025 Y)[21]
  • www.japanpost.jp[26]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[27]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[28]
  • www.jp-bank.japanpost.jp[29]

Continue your research

From company context to financial detail.

Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.

Explore JAPAN POST BANK CO LTD in Finbar ↗

Go deeper with Finbar

↗