Skip to content
research

Company profile

ICON PLC

Updated

Overview

ICON plc is a global contract research organization (CRO) serving pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical-device, government and public-health organizations. Its services span clinical development—from early-stage studies through Phase I–IV trials—to post-approval research, commercialization, market access consulting and healthcare technology.[1][2] The company’s stated mission is to improve patients’ lives by accelerating the development of customers’ drugs and devices through innovative solutions.[3]

Founded in Dublin in 1990, ICON operates internationally; as of September 30, 2025, it reported approximately 39,800 employees, 106 locations in 55 countries, and service-delivery capability in 93 countries.[4][5] For the year ended December 31, 2025, revenue was approximately $8.251 billion.[6] [1]

Products & services

ICON provides clinical development services spanning Phases I–IV, peri- and post-approval studies, trial design and execution, data solutions, consulting, contract staffing and commercialization support. Its laboratory services include central, bioanalytical, biomarker, vaccine, GMP and specialty testing; work can be delivered as full-service programs, strategic partnerships, functional service provision or stand-alone services.[7]

Named technology offerings support different stages of trial operations. ICON Digital Platform includes eConsent, electronic clinical outcome assessments (eCOA), eSource, televisits and connected-device data capture. FIRECREST provides site-facing tools for communications, training, document exchange, pre-screening, eConsent and safety-letter workflows, while HORIZON tracks site-activation milestones and offers dashboards, predictive analytics and workflow automation. Other tools described by ICON include One Search for AI/ML-assisted site selection, SmartDraft for contract drafting, Clinical Data Studio for combining data sources, Risk-Based Monitoring for data-led monitoring prioritization, and Flex Advantage for randomization and trial-supply management.[11]

Accellacare offers site and patient services, including site start-up, recruitment and retention support, site resourcing, and in-home trial visits. ICON’s filing describes its owned or embedded site network and in-home services; company pages also describe central-lab sample tracking and kit management through LabView360. ICON reports one reportable segment and does not disclose revenue or performance percentages by individual product or service.[19] [7]

Geographic presence

In FY2025, ICON plc reported revenue of 30.6% from the United States, 57.9% from Europe, and 11.5% from the Rest of the World. Its geographic revenue discussion separately reported $3,183.6 million in Ireland, $1,590.9 million in the rest of Europe, $2,524.9 million in the United States, and $951.9 million in the Rest of the World/Other. ICON cautions that Ireland revenue primarily reflects its global contracting model, rather than necessarily indicating where customers are located or services are performed.[26]

At December 31, 2025, ICON had approximately 40,100 employees at 97 locations in 55 countries; the filing does not give an employee breakdown by region.[29] Its corporate headquarters are in Leopardstown, Dublin, Ireland.[30] [26]

Business segments

ICON reports one financial segment: the global provision of outsourced development services to pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical-device companies. This segment represents 100% of reported revenue; FY2025 revenue was $8.251 billion. ICON does not report revenue contributions separately for its service lines.[22]

Its service offerings include early-phase development and clinical pharmacology; clinical-trial operations and data science; site and patient support, including recruitment and retention; laboratory testing; and consulting on development, regulatory strategy and commercial positioning. These are service categories, not separately reported financial segments, so no revenue percentages can be assigned to them from ICON’s disclosures.[32] [22]

Company history

ICON plc was founded in Dublin in 1990 by Dr. John Climax and Dr. Ronan Lambe, initially with a five-person team. It completed its initial public offering on May 15, 1998.[38]

During the 2000s and 2010s, ICON expanded its geographic reach and broadened its services through acquisitions, including UK regulatory-affairs consultancy YRCR and US clinical-trial laboratory UCT in 2000, clinical-development company Aptiv Solutions in 2014, and health-outcomes research firm Mapi Group in 2017.[42]

In 2021, ICON completed its acquisition of PRA Health Sciences, creating a larger clinical research organization under the ICON name. It acquired KCR in 2024. In 2025, Barry Balfe succeeded Steve Cutler as CEO, marking a leadership transition after Cutler had led the company since 2017.[46] [38]

Sources

  • ICON PLC — Full financial report (2025 Y)
    23 citations
  • www.iconplc.com[4]
  • www.iconplc.com[5]
  • investor.iconplc.com[6]
  • www.iconplc.com[10]
  • www.iconplc.com[16]
  • www.iconplc.com[17]
  • www.iconplc.com[18]
  • www.iconplc.com[23]
  • www.iconplc.com[24]
  • www.iconplc.com[25]
  • www.iconplc.com[30]
  • www.iconplc.com[32]
  • www.iconplc.com[33]
  • www.iconplc.com[34]
  • www.iconplc.com[35]
  • www.iconplc.com[36]
  • www.iconplc.com[37]
  • www.iconplc.com[39]
  • investor.iconplc.com[40]
  • investor.iconplc.com[41]
  • investor.iconplc.com[42]
  • investor.iconplc.com[43]
  • investor.iconplc.com[44]
  • investor.iconplc.com[45]
  • www.iconplc.com[47]
  • www.sec.gov[48]
  • www.iconplc.com[50]

Continue your research

From company context to financial detail.

Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.

Explore ICON PLC in Finbar ↗

Go deeper with Finbar

↗