Overview
Chime Financial, Inc. is a U.S.-focused financial technology company that provides app-based consumer financial services through partnerships with banks. Its offerings include spending and payment accounts, savings, credit-building products and short-term liquidity services. The company’s stated mission is “Unite everyday people to Unlock Financial Progress,” and it was founded in 2012.[1][2][3][4]
Chime reported $2.2 billion in revenue for 2025 and 10.4 million Active Members in Q2 2026; it reported $670 million in revenue for that quarter. These figures indicate its scale as a consumer finance platform, while its filings describe its operations as U.S.-focused.[5][6][7] [1][2][3][7][4][5][6][4][5][6]
Products & services
Chime’s app-based banking products include partner-bank checking accounts, Visa debit cards, nationwide ATM and cash-deposit access, and early paycheck availability of up to two days with qualifying direct deposit. The company also offers savings accounts with automatic savings features, cashback deals, and tax-filing services; its Chime Plus and Chime Prime offerings add benefits such as cash back, higher savings rates, and priority support.[8][9][10][11][12][13]
Liquidity and credit products include SpotMe, which allows eligible members to overdraw fee-free up to an assigned limit, and MyPay, which provides advances against earned pay with free delivery within 24 hours or paid instant delivery. MyPay limits of up to $1,000 were rolling out in Q2 2026. Instant Loans are fixed-rate installment loans offered through partner banks. Chime’s secured Visa credit-building card supports everyday spending without annual or late fees, while its app also provides FICO score tracking, progress monitoring, and alerts.[14][15][16][17][18][19]
In Q2 2026, Chime launched Chime Invest, offering commission-free stock and ETF investing and expert-managed portfolios through an SEC-registered investment adviser; account minimums are not required, though other fees or expenses may apply. Chime Enterprise provides a workplace channel for employers. Product-related disclosures show that in the first half of 2026 debit-card interchange represented 40% of revenue and credit-card interchange 25%; MyPay originations reached $4.5 billion in Q2, while MyPay receivables generated $218.7 million in platform-related revenue in the first half.[20][21][22][23][24][25] [8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25]
Geographic presence
Chime’s customer and operating footprint is primarily U.S.-focused: accounts are available to eligible residents of the United States and the District of Columbia. The company also reports operations in Canada, but does not provide a Canadian revenue or customer breakdown.[26][27][28]
For the six months ended June 30, 2026, Chime reported that all revenue was generated in the United States (100%) and all long-lived assets were located there; it does not disclose a state-level or other U.S. regional revenue split.[29][30] Its headquarters are in San Francisco, California, with offices in Chicago, Illinois, and New York, New York.[31][32] The company does not disclose employee numbers by office or region.[33] [26][27][28][29][30][31][32][33][28]
Business segments
Chime Financial reports one operating and reportable segment, representing 100% of the company’s consolidated operations; it does not disclose separate business segments or segment-level contribution percentages. The CEO reviews consolidated financial information to assess the performance of this single segment.[29]
The segment covers Chime’s financial-technology platform and products for spending, liquidity, credit building, savings, and community. These are product areas, not separately reported segments.[34] As additional context—not a segment breakdown—six-month 2026 revenue comprised approximately 65.5% payments revenue and 34.5% platform-related revenue.[35] [29][34][35][35]
Company history
Chime was founded in 2012 by Chris Britt and Ryan King. It launched its mobile banking account and debit card in 2014.[36][4][37][38]
In 2018, Chime reported surpassing one million bank accounts and acquired Pinch, a credit-building service, in an all-stock deal.[39][40] The company launched its SpotMe overdraft feature in 2019 and its secured Credit Builder card in 2020.[41] Chime went public in June 2025, with its shares beginning to trade on Nasdaq under the symbol CHYM on June 12; the IPO closed the following day.[42][43][44] [36][41][42][4][37][38][39][40][43][44]
Sources
- CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A — Full financial report (2026 Q 2)
- CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A — Ipo (2025 O)[3][42]
- www.chime.com[4]
- investors.chime.com[5]
- investors.chime.com[6]
- CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A — Full financial report (2025 Y)
- CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A — Press release (2026 Q 2)
- www.chime.com[28]
- CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A — Ipo (2025 O)[36][41]
- www.forbes.com[37]
- techcrunch.com[38]
- www.prnewswire.com[39]
- techcrunch.com[40]
- investors.chime.com[43]
- www.sec.gov[44]
Continue your research
From company context to financial detail.
Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.
Explore CHIME FINANCIAL INC-CL A in Finbar ↗