Overview
Brixmor Property Group Inc. is an internally managed real estate investment trust (REIT) focused on owning and operating open-air retail centers, primarily grocery-anchored community and neighborhood shopping centers. At year-end 2025, it owned 348 centers totaling 62.7 million square feet of gross leasable area.[1][2] Its portfolio is U.S.-focused, with a significant presence in established trade areas and major metropolitan areas across the country.[1][2]
The company describes its vision as creating centers that bring communities to life and its mission as delivering shareholder returns by managing and improving shopping centers so they remain relevant to communities and support merchants.[3][4] For scale, Brixmor reported $1.372 billion in total revenue for 2025.[5] [1][2][2][5][3][4]
Products & services
Brixmor’s principal offering is leasable space in community and neighborhood shopping centers. Its listings cater to retail, dining, medical, fitness, office, and service businesses, with grocery-anchored centers a major part of the portfolio: 81% of annual base rent (ABR) came from grocery-anchored centers at December 31, 2025.[2][6]
The company offers shopping-center unit and ground-space leases, alongside ancillary arrangements such as cellular-tower agreements and short-term or seasonal retail space. Short-term leasing options range from one day to one year and include storefronts, outdoor activations, and brand placements. Retail lease arrangements may pass through tenants’ shares of common-area expenses, utilities, insurance, real-estate taxes, and certain maintenance capital expenditures.[7][8]
Tenant-facing services include leasing support and resources for construction, insurance, signage, permits, utilities, and rent payments; Brixmor also promotes leasing support for entrepreneurs. The company reports its activities as one operating segment and does not disclose separate product-type revenue.[9][10][11][12] [2][7][9][10][6][8][11][12]
Geographic presence
At December 31, 2025, Brixmor Property Group reported 348 shopping centers totaling 62.7 million square feet across 29 U.S. states and 97 metropolitan markets. The company reports as one segment and does not provide a geographic breakdown of revenue.[13][2][14]
The largest state concentrations were Florida (48 centers; 13.8% of properties), Texas (45; 12.9%), California (29; 8.4%), New York (27; 7.8%), and Pennsylvania (22; 6.3%). Their respective shares of annualized base rent were 14.0%, 12.8%, 12.4%, 7.3%, and 7.2%; these are rent shares, not geographic revenue percentages. Other sizable concentrations included Georgia (22 centers), New Jersey (16), Illinois (15), Michigan (14), and North Carolina and Ohio (13 each).[14]
The company’s principal office is at 100 Park Avenue, New York, New York. The cited geographic disclosures do not specify employee distribution by location.[15] [13][2][14][15]
Business segments
Brixmor Property Group reports one operating and reportable segment: its Portfolio of community and neighborhood shopping centers. The CEO, who serves as the chief operating decision maker, evaluates performance and allocates resources on a portfolio-wide basis; the company does not report separate geographic or other business segments.[7][13]
Accordingly, the Portfolio represents 100% of the company’s reported segment activity, but Brixmor does not disclose percentage contributions for subdivisions within it. As of June 30, 2026, the Portfolio operated across 29 states and 96 metropolitan markets.[7] [7][13]
Company history
Brixmor’s history traces to a U.S. shopping-center venture formed in 2003 by Centro Properties Group and Watt Commercial Realty. The portfolio expanded through acquisitions including Kramont Realty Trust, Heritage Property Investment Trust and, in 2007, New Plan Excel Realty Trust.[16][17] A Blackstone affiliate completed its acquisition of Centro Properties Group US in June 2011, and the company adopted the Brixmor Property Group name that September.[18][19]
Brixmor completed its initial public offering and began trading on the New York Stock Exchange in November 2013; in connection with the offering, it acquired interests in 43 properties from Blackstone-affiliated funds.[20][21] In 2016, following an Audit Committee review of accounting practices and executive departures, the board appointed James M. Taylor CEO and president.[22][23] Taylor retired effective January 1, 2026, when Brian T. Finnegan succeeded him as CEO; Brixmor’s 2026 first-quarter filing identifies Finnegan as CEO and president.[24][25] [25][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24]
Sources
- Brixmor Property Group Inc. — Full financial report (2025 Y)
- www.brixmor.com[3]
- www.brixmor.com[4]
- brixmor.com[6]
- Brixmor Property Group Inc. — Full financial report (2026 Q 2)
- brixmor.com[8]
- www.brixmor.com[11]
- www.brixmor.com[12]
- labusinessjournal.com[16]
- www.sec.gov[17]
- www.prnewswire.com[18]
- www.prnewswire.com[19]
- investors.brixmor.com[20]
- investors.brixmor.com[21]
- investors.brixmor.com[22]
- investors.brixmor.com[23]
- investors.brixmor.com[24]
- Brixmor Property Group Inc. — Full financial report (2026 Q 1)[25]
Continue your research
From company context to financial detail.
Explore original sources and worldwide fundamental financial data and intelligence with Finbar.
Explore Brixmor Property Group Inc. in Finbar ↗